This glossary defines common terms that you might see as you're working in Feishu, or throughout our Help Center.
🍀 Login & Registration
Two-factor authentication can improve your account security by requiring both password and verification code when you log in. You can turn on this function on Mobile in Settings - Account and Security.
Feishu edition for personal users. You can upgrade to Team Edition directly from Personal Edition. .
Feishu edition for teams. Team Edition provides more services than Personal Edition, such as Admin Console, App Directory, security settings, etc.
Members can join a team via Team Code. It is 8 characters long and contains only letters. Team Admin can share the code with members to have them join the team when registering on Feishu.
Invite QR Code
Team Admin can share the Invite QR Code with members to have them scan the code to join the team.
You will have multiple identities if you've joined more than one team. You can switch identity in the Feishu app.
Once you've deleted your account, you won't be able to access it again.
For Personal Edition users: . For Team Members: you cannot delete your account by yourself. Your Team Admin can deactivate your account on the .
Disband a team: only the team founder can disband a team. Once disbanded, members won't be able to log in to this team anymore.
The platform where administrators invite members, manage organization structure, resources and security strategy.
The unique company logo represents the image of the company. .
The person who first created the company account. The founder is a super administrator by default, who has all management permissions in the Admin Console. The founder can add other users as super administrator or administrator. He can also disband the company. The founder identity can also be transferred.
Super administrator manages all company data and resources. He can add more super administrators or administrators who are given specific permissions. Only the super administrator who is also the founder can disband the company. .
Administrator only has some management permissions. The management permissions are given by super administrators. For example, some administrators can only manage company info, some other administrators can only manage company apps. .
Company's internal departments and employee allocations. User can view company organization at App - Contacts - Organization. Administrator can configure visibility settings of the organization in the Console.
Only administrator can create an all-staff calendar. All employees in the company will subscribe to this calendar by default. All calendar events will be visible to all employees. Administrator can configure all-staff calendar settings in the Console. By scheduling events that need all employees to pay attention to on an all-staff calendar, administrator can save the trouble of making repetitive announcements. .
Implement security settings for the company in the Console. In security strategy, an administrator can configure permission settings for sharing and accessing documents. He can also turn on watermark. .
The log records history actions done by super administrators and administrators. It makes it easy to track administrator's history management configurations. .
After clicking Disband company, the company will be officially disbanded after 24 hours. Once disbanded, all user accounts and contacts of the company will be deleted, and they cannot be restored. Only the founder has the permission to disband company. .
Feishu Certification is a qualification review service provided by Toutiao. Once the Feishu Certification is completed, the company will enjoy benefits such as unlimited contacts, livestream, etc. .
Voice and video calls are available for one-on-one communication. .
Meetings can be started in group chats and allow communication between multiple people. .
If a video meeting needs to reach over 350 people, the host can livestream the meeting. People from the same company as the host can open the link in a browser and watch the livestream. The livestream includes all audio from the meeting, video of the active speaker(s), and screen sharing activity. Millions of people can watch the livestream at the same time. .
If you can't attend a meeting, or if the meeting involves complex or important information, ask the host to record it so you can watch it later. The recording includes all audio from the meeting, video of the active speaker(s), and screen sharing activity. After the meeting ends, the host will receive the recording via Docs Assistant, and can watch it online or download the file. The host can also share the recording with other users. .
To make communication easier in calls and meetings, you can click the Share icon on the control bar and share your entire screen or just a specific window.
You can share a document in a call or meeting and allow everyone to co-edit it. Click the Share icon on the control bar and search for the document you want to share. Participants can view the document with the presenter or view on their own at their pace. .
View with presenter
An option for participants when a document is being shared. If you choose view with presenter, your view is synced with the presenter's view, and you will see exactly what the presenter sees.
View on your own
An option for participants when a document is being shared. If you choose view on your own, you can scroll through the document at your own pace. If you have edit permission, you can also edit the document directly from the video meeting window, and your changes will be visible to all participants in real time.
Disable "Mirror my video"
In calls and meetings, your video is automatically mirrored to reflect how others see you in real life (the same as what you see when you look in the mirror). You can also choose to turn off this setting. .
Layout refers to the way participants are shown on your meeting interface. You can choose from two options: 1) Show only the active speaker's video while other participants will be listed on the right. 2) Show thumbnail videos of all participants on the right.
Lock a meeting
For security reasons, the host of a meeting may wish to lock a meeting. When a meeting is locked, only the host can invite new participants. .
Pin a participant's video
During a meeting, the main video shows the active speaker. You can also set a specific participant's video as the main video instead. .
An online word processor that supports collaborators to edit together and thus makes it more efficient. You can set permissions of reading, editing, commenting and sharing.
Used to increase indentation of text during editing
Used to decrease indentation of text during editing
Used to pin elements to make them readily available from the menu
Refers to the text protection range set in the table. Once set, it is impossible to edit the protected table. You need to contact the document owner to cancel this protection range.
Special feature for urgent messages allowing for the sender to send a message to you via SMS/Call/Persistent notification
Accessible from the bottom of the chat pane, allows you to filter chats according to certain criteria
Do Not Disturb Mode
Under this mode, you will not receive notifications other than Buzz messages, video and voice calls.
Refers to the ability to mention other users in a chat or file
Refers to one-on-one conversation that occurs in Feishu
A type of chat, in which messages will be "burnt" (destructed) after the set time period.
A group chat involving multiple users
An administrator for a group chat
You can "Pin" important messages to make them easier for the team to read. Pinned messages are visible to all team members and will be found in the side bar of chat.
Pin to Quick Switcher
Personal conversations and group chats can be Pinned in the top bar of the dialog box, making it easy to view and send messages at any time.
After chats being moved into the Chat box, they will be silenced and only the number of new messages will be displayed.
🧰 Open Platform
The main page where you can access all integrations enabled
An external integration to Feishu to use third party services from within the app
An app developed for a specific need by users
The apps marketplace where you can see the list of available external apps
An autonomous program that interact with you in a chat
Terms of Service
The terms of service you need to read and accept before using Feishu services
Notification or message to remind you of something or to take an action
Refers to the version number of the app
Refers to a version with updated features compared to the previous one
Used to describe the application ability integrated with Feishu
Connector/ Assistant/ Master
The third party integration tool of Feishu