This document describes how to manage permissions for folders.
I. Configuring folder permissions
1. Sharing folders
The purpose of sharing a folder is to give collaborators of access to the files contained in a specific folder (you can grant read, edit, and share permissions) without affecting ownership of those files.
- •Creating a shared folder: From the list of folders, click the "..." button on the right of the folder you would like to share. Select Share to invite users or groups to become collaborators. The File Assistant will send Feishu notifications (optional) to invitees.
- •Viewing collaborators: Open the shared folder and you will see the profile photos of the owners and collaborators on the right side of the folder list.
- •Removing a collaborator: Click the collaborator's permissions drop-down list to revoke a user permission.
2. Collaborator role permissions in a shared folder
- •Owners can delete shared folders, move shared sub-folders, move any file in the folder, delete files they own, invite collaborators, and remove all collaborators at once.
- •Collaborators can move shared sub-folders, move any file in the folder, delete files they own, invite collaborators, and remove collaborators they invited.
3. Moving a shared folder
In the shared sub-folder list, place the cursor on the folder you wish to move. The "..." button will appear on the right. Click Move and choose the target folder. Shared folders in the root directory cannot be moved.
Note: Permission to collaborate on shared folders is revoked when a shared folder is removed (moved to a personal space or deleted). Files in the folder will be transferred to the respective owners and their permissions reset to default.
- •Moving a shared folder to My Space makes it a regular folder and collaborators will no longer have access to it. Files in the folder will be transferred to the respective owners and their permissions reset to default.
- •Moving Shared Folder A to Shared Folder B will alter the permissions of the files it contains. Users with access to Shared Folder A will no longer have access to it, while users with access to Shared Folder B will be granted access to Shared Folder A.
4. Deleting a shared folder
Only the owner of a shared folder is authorized to delete it. From the list of shared folders, place the cursor on the folder you wish to move. The "..." button will appear on the right. Click Delete to delete the folder.
Note: Deleting a shared folder will not delete the files it contains. It only revokes the permissions of collaborators on shared files. When a shared folder is deleted, the files it contains will be transferred to the respective owners and their permissions reset to default.
5. Transferring ownership of a folder
You can transfer ownership of a folder by clicking Share in the upper right corner of the file page, and search for the user you wish to transfer ownership to. Click Set as owner. Transferring ownership of a folder does not affect the permissions of the files in the folder. The folder's owner does not own the files in it. These files can only be managed by collaborators.
II. Viewing and applying for file permissions
- •Hover over the Share button in the top right corner of the file page to view your file permissions.
- •You can request the owner of a file for read, edit, or share permission. In the upper right corner of the file page, click Share > Apply for Permissions to send a request to the owner. You can also add a remarks to the request.